One left

It’s 5:32am Monday.  I’m here at work on what is my second last night shift here.  I’ll be sleeping all day and heading back for one more.  I haven’t really minded night shifts (and will still work them when I work at other hospitals).  The part I think I disliked the most was the turning back around of my internal clock once my night shifts were over.  The first couple of days after working two night shifts are pretty much useless for productivity.  Having said that, I will be starting a Monday to Friday job that requires me to be at work every morning, something I haven’t had to do since I was in school.  I’ve been working 12 hour day and night shifts now for 5 years.  My only hope is that the extended free time during the day (finishing work at 3pm), and lack of night shifts makes up for the 5 day-a-week change.  We’ll certainly see.

Leave a Reply

